Sensitive Points in Astrology

Sensitive point in astrology act like planetary bodies but the difference here is they have no physical manifestation. Planetary bodies occupies space and has mass, energy, orbit, and influence. These sensitive intersection point do not have any of that- in the physical sense. Typically, these points represent intersection points in space, based on the ecliptic, orbital factors, or other techniques applied to the planetary bodies. They are key areas on the chart and are just as important as the other planetary bodies. For example, the degree of the native’s ascendant, would be a sensitive point to look for throughout the rest of the natal chart.

Cardinal Cross Points

Ascendant (ASC)


Also known as the native’s “Rising Sign”. The Ascendant is the point in the sky where the horizon pointed to, at a specific time in a specific location. That is to say, the zodiac sign that was rising on the eastern horizon at your time of birth is your Ascendant. In a chart the ascendant signifies, physical qualities and features of the native. The persona the native exudes. How an individual may come across to others. The beginnings of the person, core forces, and qualities that share the individual. It is “who I am” side of the ASC-DSC axis.

Descendant (DSC)

Descendant point is opposite the Ascendant point. The zodiac sign that was setting on the western horizon at your time of birth is your Descendant. In a chart, it represents how the native deals with others – friends, foe, lovers, and business partners. How you relate to “the other”.

Midheaven (M.C.)

In Latin, Medium Coeli (M.C.) translates to “middle of the sky”; also called the mid-heaven. The part of the ecliptic that is at its highest point above the horizon at the time of the native’s birth, midway between the ascension and descension points. In a chart, it signifies and indicates career, status, aim in life, aspirations, public reputation, and life goals. Goals can also be of spiritual and personal nature, but essentially, it is what the native does in the world.

Nadir (I.C.)

In Latin, Imum Coeli (I.C.) translates to “bottom of the sky”; also called the nadir. It symbolizes personal midnight, the root of the personality, and the forces that shaped the native early in life.

Lunar Nodes

Lunar Nodes are the points where the Moon’s orbital path crosses the plane of the ecliptic. If a planet is in conjunction to a lunar node this is where your natal eclipse is– particularly the Moon, if it is within a 3 degree orb.

In Evolutionary Astrology, the lunar nodes, in essence, indicate your soul’s last location and your next destination. This refers to the concept of reincarnation and would be helpful with understanding a philosophy of these energies. The remnant energies of where you came from, the last incarnation just before this one (the south node) and the remnant energies of where you are heading, the next incarnation or destiny (north node).

North Node – Rahu

Ascending node, the “head of the dragon” is the point in space where the moon orbits intersects the earth’s orbit “from below”. In a chart, the Node Node represents future and destiny toward which the native is moving. Spiritual development and culmination. Where unconsciousness substance can be recovered in the conscious.

South Node – Ketu

Descending node or the “tail of the dragon” is the point in space where the moon orbit intersects the earth orbit “from above”. The South Node represents past experiences gained from past lives, that somehow shapes today a.k.a. Karma. Spiritual separation. Where consciousness fades into the unconscious.

Arabic Parts or Greek Lots

Sensitive points that are based upon the position of the natal planets and the ascendant. Generally speaking, the ‘lots’ or ‘parts’ helps the cosmic soul see, how a relationship formed in the heavens, applies to the native- an analogy of sorts. It is important to be aware if the natal chart is diurnal or nocturnal as this will change the formula to calculate the ‘parts’. They are used as a secondary dialogue for the native’s story in a natal chart.

There are Seven Hermetic Lots – Lot of Fortune, Lot of Spirit, Lot of Necessity, Lots of Eros, Lot of Courage, Lot of Victory, and Lot of Nemesis. Essentially, to cover all of the traditional seven planets. Lastly, there are many ‘parts’ far beyond the scope of this post. I will touch on two, the part of fortune and the part of spirit.

Part of Fortune (P.O.F.)

In Latin, Pars Fortuna, is one of the only Arabic Parts still commonly used in modern astrology. It indicates the area of life that is fortunate for the native. The house in which the Part of Fortune is placed indicates an area of your life that is likely to be successful, where the application of your skills will bear fruit. It is where you will find good luck and happiness. I also like to think of this as “X marks the spot” as if we are looking for treasure on a map. In Hellenistic astrology, it is primarily associated with the body, reputation, and privilege.

How to calculate the Lot of Fortune:

  • [Day chart] Fortune = Ascendant + Moon – Sun
  • [Night chart] Fortune = Ascendant + Sun – Moon.

Part of Spirit

Used less often than Part of Fortune, the Part of Spirit is how the native experiences spiritual connections and their spirituality. The essence of the soul and its Will being directed into the world. It can show intention, power, and career. Additionally, it can sometimes provide an idea of what types of spiritual or psychosomatic illnesses the native may be naturally prone to. Perhaps in modern day, it can even be used as a point of reference to the nature of the guardian spirits that walk with you. In Hellenistic astrology, however, it is primarily associated with the soul and intellect.

How to calculate the Lot of Spirit (LoS)

  • LoS = ASC + Sun – Moon (Day Births)
  • LoS = ASC + Moon – Sun (Night Births)

The aforementioned are the most commonly recognized sensitive points in astrology, used across various astrological traditions.

Categories: Astrology, Blog, Learning Astrology

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: